Invisible Landscape

Chris Allard

Chris Allard released ‘Invisible Landscape’ on 10th June 2016 through Perdido Records [DOR-1601], his fourth album as a leader. Regarded as one of the UK’s finest contemporary jazz guitarists/composers, he has performed and recorded with Jacqui Dankworth, Gwilym Simcock, the BBC Big Band and Jamie Cullum, amongst others. A guitar-led contemporary jazz group firmly rooted in and informed by jazz tradition, yet encompassing elements of rock, world, classical, blues and folk influences, the Chris Allard Band has performed all over the UK and in Europe, including the International Guitar Festival and Ronnie Scott’s. Critical acclaim has included 4 stars in Guitarist Magazine.

Returning to the open yet challenging guitar trio format, ‘Invisible Landscape’ features top musicians Oli Hayhurst on double bass and Nick Smalley on drums. After laying down the main guitar parts on Gibson 335 electric guitar live with the trio, extra guitar parts were added to a number of the pieces – dimensions and colours of various different guitars; steel-string acoustic, classical guitar, other electric guitars with differing textures and effects.

‘Invisible Landscape’ features seven original tunes, plus a trio version of Wayne Shorter’s beautiful ballad ‘Fall’, and two songs with very special guest; Memphis legend Charlie Wood on vocals and keys: ‘Let’s Get Lost’, and ‘Was’.